The Chapter currently issues two annual awards to standouts in Family Law. The Fellow of the Year Award recognizes those Fellows who have made extraordinary contributions to the community, outside of their AAML participation, to charitable events, charitable organizations or to the enhancement of the legal profession. The C. Rick Chamberlin Award recognizes a non-AAML Fellow who has made extraordinary contributions to the family law community.

Fellow of the Year

2022: Michael C. Tobriner

2020: Geniveve Ruskus

2018: Gretchen Wallacker and Clay Greene

2017: Tony Dick

2016: Garrett Dailey

2015: Ann Fallon

2014: Pamela Pierson

2013: Jennifer Jackson

2012: Lorie Nachlis

2011: Ron Granberg

2010: Bob Blevans and Richard Barry

2009: Sherry Cassedy, Shannon Minter, and Teresa Stewart

2008: Margaret Anderson, Christopher Emley, Ann Fallon, and Diana Richmond

2007: Suzie Thorn

2006: John McCall

C. Rick Chamberlin

2022: Susun Kim, Contra Costa Family Justice Center

2020: Susan Myres, AAML Texas Chapter

2018: Hon. Marjorie Slabach

2017: Larry Moskowitz

2016: Judge Beverly Wood

2014: Beth Hassett, WEAVE

2013: Claire Barnes, Kids' Turn

2012: Dawn Gray

2011: Judith Soley (posthumously)

2010: Robert McCreadie

DeGoff and Sherman Award:

The DeGoff and Sherman Award for Meaningful Contributions to the Improvement of Family Law was given from 2008 to 2016.  Recipients were lawyers, judicial officers, mental health professionals, journalists, academics, community activists, local or state legislators, government officials. All family lawyers and judicial officers throughout the state nominated potential recipients. A $2,500 contribution was made in the recipient's honor to the charity of the recipient's choice.


2016: Nancy Lemon, Family Violence Appellate Project

2015: Emberly Cross, Cooperative Restraining Order Clinic

2014: Betty Nordwind, Harriett Buhai Center for Family Law

2013: Stephen Adams, Friends of the Joseph Branch

2012: Hon. Donald B. King

2011: Jeanne B. Ames (posthumously), mediator

2010: Gavin Newsom, Mayor of San Francisco

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software